New National Cultural Heroes

Posted by on 29th June, 2013

FRC Declares Five New National Cultural Heroes

Five new National Cultural Heroes have been selected by the Folk Research Centre as it continues the celebration of its fortieth anniversary.

They are Ms. Flora Granger, Chantwel of Choiseul,   Mr.  Joseph Rameau  Poleon, violinist of Belle Vue, Vieux Fort, Mr. Lennards ‘Scrubb’ Wellington, steel band maestro, the late Athanasius LaBorde, master drummer and Msgr Patrick ‘Paba’ Anthony, founder of the Folk Research Centre.

The new National Cultural Heroes were announced at a special ceremony held under the patronage of the Governor General at Government House on Wednesday June 26th.

 The ceremony also honoured the founding members of the FRC which grew out of a Study and Action Group led by Msgr Anthony in 1972. The FRC was formed in 1973.

The first National Cultural Heroes, the late Harold Simmons and Dame Sesenne Descartes were announced in 2005 and Sir Dunstan St. Omer was recognised in 2007.

The event was addressed by Msgr Patrick Anthony who gave insights into the beginning of the FRC and Mr. Hilary La Force, Chairman of the Board who presented a rationale for honouring founding members and national cultural heroes. Citations were read for both founding members and the newest heroes detailing their contributions to FRC and St. Lucia.

The founding members were identified as Msgr Anthony, Ms Andrea Bourne, Mr. Petrus Compton, Mr. Ausbert D’Auvergne, Dr. Didacus Jules, Dr. Bernard La Corbiniere, Mr. David Popo, Mrs. Mary Popo, Mr. Kennedy ‘Boots Samuel and Mr. Anthony Severin.








Leave a Reply